Skip to content


Role Playing Games

The idea behind a Role Playing Game is simple. We all played make-believe when we were young. An RPG simply adds rules and structure to that same unbridled imagination.

The Oxford English dictionary defines it as, “[…]a game in which players take on the roles of imaginary characters who engage in adventures, typically […] overseen by a referee.”

Put another way, we can escape into another world and personality in a cooperative storytelling process where the goal is to have fun rather than competing with the other players.

Four Attribute Dual Dodecahedron System (FADDS)

There are many different kinds of systems for role-playing. FADDS basic premise is the use of two dodecahedrons, or twelve sided dice. The rules are there to enhance and should never in any way impede role-playing.

What You Need to Play

  • The rules from this site, which tell you how to create and play your character.
  • A copy of the character sheet PDF.
  • A pencil.
  • Pieces of Scrap paper or graph paper may be useful.
  • Dice Including, at least one four sided dice, one six sided dice, one eight sided dice, one ten sided dice, one twenty sided dice, and two twelve sided dice.

Tokens or miniatures to indicate your character and its place on the map.As a player you should familiarize yourself with the sections on Character Creation, Combat, Time, Technology, and Equipment.


The names for dice have been shortened throughout these rules in order to speed things up. The short form for any dice is the letter d followed by the amount of sides. For example, an eight sided dice would be a d8. If referring to more than one of the same dice the amount of dice is placed before hand. For example, two six sided dice would be 2d6.

At times there might me extras added or subtracted from the dice roles. These are marked with the appropriate mathematical symbol after the amount of sides. For example, some weapon do damage equal to a certain amount of dice plus strength. If the weapon does two eight sided dice plus Body it would be written 2d8+Body.

The Basics

Core Mechanics

FADDS uses a core mechanic to resolve all actions. It’s used to keep the game fast paced and simple to understand. When you want to attempt an action, be it attacking an enemy or climbing a mountain, you need to roll two twelve sided dice (2d12). Success depends on the target number for a particular action. If the result equals or surpasses the target number than that character succeeds, If it is lower the character fails.

The Gamemaster (Also known as GM)

Take equal parts storyteller, referee, and villain; and you have the role of a Gamemaster. They are responsible for making sure the game runs smoothly, everyone is following the rules, and moving the story forwards.

The Gamemaster had final judgment on any matter pertaining to the rules.


Everything in these rules assumes that the characters are Heroes. They are better than the average Joe in at least one thing and they are meant for great things.


Every Hero has four Abilities that represent the character’s basic strengths and weaknesses. These Abilities, Body, Mind, Agility, and Personality, affect everything a Hero does from fighting to drawing a picture.

An ability score of 0 is the average for a normal human being. Higher scores give Heroes bonuses and lower scores give them penalties. When creating a character you want to make sure that your higher abilities correspond to the skills in which you want your character to excel.


A class represents your Heroes educational background, and path through life. It helps flesh out your characters personality and abilities.

Level and Tier

Levels represent the accumulation of experience that leads to character advancement. Going up in levels gives the character new abilities and character improvements. A first level character is not as powerful as a fourth level character.

A character generally goes from level one to level thirty. Each ten level increment represents a different Tier or stage in a characters life. The first Tier, levels 1-10, is the Youth Tier. The second tier, levels 11-20, is the Journeyman Tier. The third Tier, levels 21-30, is the Legend Tier.


Every Hero can take a certain amount of damage before dying or being knocked out. A character has two forms of Health. Stamina is decided by their Body and Personality. It represents a characters ability to keep fighting. Vigour is decided by the characters Body. It represents how much physical damage they can take.


Talents are special abilities that a Hero learns during his training. Every Hero starts with Three Beginning Talents. A Hero Receives one Talent every odd level independent of the class they have chosen.


Skills are the base for everything that a Hero can do. There are six kinds of skills, encompassing everything a character could do. The six skill categories are, Combat, Defence, Knowledge, Magic, Professional, and Common.

Hero Points

Sometimes a Heroes ability just aren’t enough and they need to do something fantastic in order to save the day. In those cases, he or she would use a Hero Point to get bonuses to their Skills. There are also certain talents that require their use.

A Game Session

A sample session will be available later.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 10/05/2011 4:41 PM

    Hard to say much at this point, but I like the two types of hit points.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s